top of page
  • Art In Hard Times

Quotes from Participants about their art

"A life. 

Out of control and unmanageable

Hopelessness

Trapped and wanting out

Many helping hands... it won't always be perfect

The sun peaks out

12 steps

Swimming against the current

Rainbows set against eternal trees

I am proud

I believe that everyone you meet has something to teach you, and

what doesn't kill you makes you stronger."

Anishinaabe - Seven Grandfathers

"With offerings of asemaa, the Seven Grandfather rocks speak on respect, truth, honesty, courage, humility, love, and wisdom. 

The Grandfathers hold stories of Anishinaabe Clans - heron, bear, deer, eagle, otter, loon, turtle/fish.

The Grandfathers, Creation's bond between fire and water, along with Nibi (water, the stream), nurtures medicines - asemaa, kinnikinik, cedar, sweetgrass, sage, salts, minerals - for All Relations. 

As humanity seeks purpose/ peace, may All two-leggeds acknowledge and honour that Earth Our Mother is able to thrive without us. We are wholly dependent!

With humility may each of us seek out and discern with wisdom our unique gift to make and be accountable for our choices!

In Unity 

Nii'kinaaganaa 

Aho"


"I wanted to participate in this art project because I wanted to learn, grow, and help make the world a better place. I tried to show that through my art, as well as experiencing it through listening to others' stories. I don't have a story yet, and I feel like the simplistic design of the butterfly and waves captures that." 


"This section I painted with lush grasses and natural elements. I have been using this time during the pandemic to spend more time in nature and watch the animals and plants play and sing in peaceful harmonies. I added splatters of white to match the areas around the grasses and they took on the shapes of dandelion seeds or "wishes" flying along the tops of the grass. What a beaufitul surprise it was to see them turn out that way!" 


"I created this art piece to describe a story, one about a journey of learning and growing to help each other and staying positive. It's hard staying alone and apart but that is overpowered by the bravery of others and ourselves. We are in this together and we'll get through this together."

The fish 'Giig oon' 

In creation the fish is part of our lives - The salmon go up a river - they create (spawn) new life -  we hunt/fish/and trap our foods too - The salmon are an important part of Mother - the fish give their lives so that we may have life - Fish are an important part of the earth's ecosystem

“the bird in the river of tears”

I created this piece with the intention of adding wildlife to the mural. From a distance I wanted it to look like a flowing river of tears with beautiful blues and teals, but with a look closer it is a bird. I like that idea. When I actually stop, look and listen, my world transforms.  The assumptions I had, the old paradigms, fall apart and the authentic truth is seen.  I feel that this year with the pandemic i have been forced to stop, look and listen, and the hard truth is revealed. This truth brings up raw feelings and it is important to hold space for them, as the tears flow down the river." 


"The word that describes my painting is an Arabic word ,"Al Hashir".

It means 'one who gathers people / brings people together'."


"A cycle of systemic racism, supported by white privilege and bias, slowly burn a community. Destroying not only our society but also the environment.

Embracing self-isolation, all while embracing in one's self. There's a lot of shame, hate, and discrimination that surrounds our bodies, so it's important to remember you are the source of your own power.

It is with gratitude and appreciation that I acknowledge that I live and learn within the traditional territory of the Six Nations and Mississaugas of New Credit (as a resident of the Haldimand Tract, which takes in six miles on each side of the Grand River), Anishnabe & Neutral people.

Description:

My name is Hope Engel, My spirit name is Evening Star (“the star that goes before the others at night to show the way”). I'm Turtle clan, white Fox warrior & Hawk spirit helper. I'm Two-spirit Choctaw Chickasaw, Cherokee, Scotch Irish & German, multiple-disabled reclaimed femme with white privilege."

"Turtle clan is Teacher, Messenger & Interpreter to & from Spirit, land, plant & animal teachings. (from Christi Belcourt The Earth is my Government, & Leanne Simpson Dancing on Turtle's Back). Indigenous origin stories call this land Turtle Island. BIPOC deal with complex intergenerational ancestral post-traumatic stress disorder (historical & present reality of colonization, slavery, residential schools, mmiwg, trafficking, Japanese concentration camps, border detention camps, mass incarceration, police violence & murder, white supremacy & military industrial complex). Mother Earth/Turtle literally roots us in our ancestors, land & all relations, & sustains us with food, shelter, water & life, & teaches us everything we need to know as humans. 

Turtle/ Mother Earth is mother to us all, a place of hope. ALL people can stand on her deeply rooted & whole - She & ALL of our ancestors in the land hold, heal, nurture & teach us if we ask/ listen. It is our spiritual birthright & the agreement we have with All Relations. Even if everything is lost, & all our ancestors are erased by colonization- the earth, turtle our mother, will nurture nourish & teach us again, the same way she always has. Turtle as a source of Creation transformation, spirit, stories, community connection & nourishment for everyone who lives in this land, physically, mentally emotionally and spiritually."


"I wanted to create an image capturing the importance of helping one another. I wanted the viewer to feel like one person is drowning due to reasons they cannot control, but we as a community can help pull them up - if we come together and prioritize that person.  

In the spirit of “softness is a boundless form of resistance”, rest is representetd here as the antidote to some of what ails us in the current social, political and health climate. instead of glorifying the hustle, let’s elevate the moment held with eyes closed. Instead of lazy and unproductive, rest is a necessary restorative state. The natural world models the restful state in the cycle of the seasons; the cycle of consumerism monetizes self-care at the peril of our wellbeing. In this piece the green shapes are symbols of the landscape supporting the figure at rest."


“A Revolution Without Dancing Is A Revolution Not Worth having.” V’s Words. Sparkly gala attire, curly wigs, flower hats, fantasy pins, purple balloons...Covid stole the wedding I once rejected. Here, protesting for PLAY. Rise wise. Magic no tragic. Gender bender. Spray with play. Poke with love.  

Respect the value of each human being, their culture, their color, their religion. 

Be kind to each other because it costs nothing but means everything.

Always speak out if you see injustice because it is your responsibility as a human being on this planet." 


"This section resembles to me the idea of helping one another through our struggles. In my own words I would say that it represents that it sometimes feels like we are holding up the entire world on our shoulders. We can help the community and world by being aware of how we affect the environment around us; not littering, reducing our carbon footprint and reducing the emissions that we put into the world.

This Ready-made piece was created through combining things from my home. This process was fun as it made me think about the objects in my house differently. This was important given I have been spending more time at home because of Covid. I enjoyed having the person holding a sign as I got to sneak in the slogan 'Black Trans Lives Matter'."


"My art is intuitive and I never  know what is going to be expressed on my canvas. I say that my angels create for me. My piece for the mural contains me as a little girl and me in my 60’s dancing and like the little girls loving the twirl of life. It contains a few of my paintings of gatherings and images of women. The one with all the eyes again is the sense of community that I feel with women all over the world. I love the peace that I feel when I paint or doodle. I thank God for these gifts. Blessings." 


"I had fun doing this. Everyone should do art on the street. 

There's a butterfly in my throat that flutters and can't get out, but what was once a caterpillar grew wings and began to fly. We're growing to use our voices and learning how to raise others.

Stop and look around. I have been describing this past year as both an interesting and challenging time. For myself, I realized once quarantine hit that it oddly allowed me the opportunity to pause and reflect on my values in life and the concepts of time and transition. Not only has time changed in my everyday life, but it is also changing and challenging the history of time. My piece aims to portray this consideration of time and the need for us to stop, think, listen, learn, grow, and support one another in this moment and the moments to come." 


"As someone who recently came out and feels part of the LGBTQIA+ community, I have struggled with feeling valid in a community that I belong to. Due to internalized homophobia, our current society, and my own confidence with my sexuality I have had trouble feeling like my voice in this community is valid. As a white cis able-bodied female I hold a lot of privilege, and I recognize that my struggles within this community are far less than others. For this piece, I wanted to turn my insecurity on its head in an affirmation of “I BELONG”. These words hold me accountable, and help me to feel valid being who I am. I hope they can do the same for others. We all belong. 

In this section I chose to represent the constant search for energy, renewal, hope and strength for ourselves and those we support. Isolation and stress have engulfed us in the past months and the mental health of even the most supported of us was tested. The figure I used draws energy from the living earth below her and fuels herself before sharing it with the other figures in her community. Her fuel may be prayer, meditation, a strength from God, or her community. Whatever it is that fills her spirit, it is the balance of giving and rebuilding and this piece serves as a reminder of the importance of that balance.

"I wanted to capture the idea of new beginnings, transformation and growth, focusing on the positives of a devastating period of time. I used imagery of growing vines, a cocoon, a butterfly, a leaf, a flower and waves to symbolize these ideas. I also wanted to incorporate the mission of this art project - art in hard times - by including a paintbrush symbol in the wing of the butterfly. This was my first time making textile art with machine embroidery and applique. I had a lot of fun exploring a new form of art while at home and taking time to reflect on all the ways everyone's lives have changed during the last few months."

The story I would like to share through my art piece is how important it is to be in nature and take your time to go slowly when you are enjoying nature. My section of the tree is part of a large strong tree, reminding me of how I am also a strong woman. The colours, (like a real tree) calm me down and make me happy. Nature helps us stay safe in this time and helps us keep a distance. Make sure you do not litter and wear a mask!" 


"The story I’m telling with this piece is that we could be – I hope we are – on the brink of structural change that will bring love and justice to north america.  Making fundamental changes to policing and incarceration is paramount.   We need to cross the bridge and to bring others along with us and create the world where racist, capitalist, heteropatriarchy is abolished, and we can all be safe and appreciated.

"As awareness was spreading for black lives matter I couldn't help wanting to assist awareness about the indigenous community without withdrawing information from black lives matter. So while people need to be educated on the oppression of the black community I think it's important to raise the voices of the indigenous community and listen to what they have to say."


"The weave depicts our interconnectedness

The red dress to honour the thousands of murdered and missing women of whom Canada doesn’t care to even search for

The medicine wheel is for strength and balance going forward

The feather is for freedom - from oppression and racism 

The Landback depicts the need for people to consider leaving Indigenous land alone - no more development and or mining/resource extraction (even consider willing/gifting land back to it’s original peoples or person) 

The helmet has been needed for protection when standing up against these land claim protests.

The wifi sign two major things the ability to document and upload /livestream police violence/brutality and other racist acts and helped BIPOC fight back (with evidence)

Part two of this documentation via wifi is that with this Covid-19 pandemic quarantine millions more people have been witnessing in real time the brutality that BIPOC face and have faced for centuries 

The mask over the face of the Indigenous depicts the Global Pandemic which we are currently living under 

I can’t breathe are some of George Floyd’s final words.

It is by the mask due to Indigenous having lived such clean ways and now we have a climate crisis

We the oppressed stand up for Mother Earth means that we stand up for every living thing on Mother Earth and that includes you.

When did it become against the law to be BIPOC? Depicts how I’ve felt just trying to exist in this country and I can’t believe its 2020 - if you don’t believe systemic racism exists...Come talk to me. I’ll share some lived experience. 


"My section of the mural is inspired by Lord of the Rings. The warrior within us stands for peace and justice and the protection of all people and living things."


“What I am representing with my piece is the difference between the way people are viewing this situation. Everyone has different ways of coping, and in these times it often feels like everyone is split. But also, all the differences kind of unite because they all come from the same place. We’re all experiencing this.”


"The section that I chose was a long vertical piece adjacent to the warrior woman. I wanted to have something compliment her power and fierceness, while speaking to my own affinity for the mystical and mythical."


"After much creative agonizing, I could fit a Chinese dragon into that space, serpentine and powerful. I wasn't sure what kind of dragon it would end up being until I started sketching, and it turned into a Deer-like dragon which is very similar to the Qilin Dragon."


"According to Taoist mythology, the Qilin can look fearsome but they only punish the wicked. In some Buddhist depictions, they refuse to walk upon grass for fear of harming a single blade, and thus are often depicted moving upon the clouds or the water, never treading on a living creature. As they are peaceful creatures, their diets do not include flesh." 


"I had not known I had sketched a dragon that really is just like me! I think they would make a great companion to our Warrior."


"My piece represents the other side of Black protests and resilience which is Black Joy. The picture in the middle is from the Guelph Black Lives Matter march. A sign that says Black Lives Matter is being held and a fist is being clenched. Parts of the sign cannot be seen in the collage as two Black boys are playing in other pictures. These boys are in a field tossing up a ball and running happily and freely. The peak of Black resistance is not the chants and the protests but instead it can be found in Black joy. The way despite the obstacles and discrimination that we face we still smile, laugh, love and find joy in living."


"When I think of noses, I think about concepts of structure and balance. I tried to incorporate this idea by mixing both natural (or referring to) and man-made materials. Throughout this process, I really thought about how we may have been more devoid of a natural way of connecting with others during the pandemic, and how this has been supplemented with technology as well. Although it's not the same, it still works and people have made the best out of it! I decided to explore that parallel with this portion of the mural."


"This area reminds me of the representation of a tongue. It reminds me of the importance of food access in our community and how important it is that each person has access to fresh, healthy food and hygiene products. This should not be dependent on their colour of skin religion, or abilities. We should have more availability to volunteer in community gardens and grow food together. That way everyone can take what they need and share with those around them."


"I depicted a solid tree in bloom next to a flowing river using my lino-block print. 

In addition to the bold print, I used pencil crayons to add softer colour to connect my piece to the greater mural." 


"I am inspired by both how a tree withstands the forces of nature, including a strong, fast river current as well as how nature works together." 


"The tree, with its intricate web of roots provides support to the banks of the river, delaying erosion's path. The water, in turn, provides life-supplying water to the tree." 


"I believe we can learn much from the natural world and her ecosystems;

with unique gifts and functions we can all contribute to the health and safety of our planet and those who call it home."

 

"This pandemic has highlighted the deep injustices and disparities we live with; it has also shed light on the strength, compassion, and brilliance that lie within humans. Activists, carers, sky-gazers, foragers, dreamers, survivors: I find myself surrounded by inspiring people. My piece is a collection of ordinary things and views that have been my unspeaking companions through this strange period. I played with scale to signal how time and attention have shifted; smallness matters so much. Tiny things can carry immense significance. I am scared, and I am grateful."


“I want to tell the story of black Canada I want people to know that we are here and that we have been here and that we are going to stay here in our pain and our joy”


"This piece was made to represent the feelings I've felt over the past few months in quarantine. As there has been public outcry for the unjust killings of black people around the world at the hands of the police, the world is only now starting to react and make some minor changes. I used three different images within my overall piece to represent what I've seen and/or felt during this movement. There are repeated images of plants throughout the image representing the growth that comes from speaking out. The megaphone serves as a representation of the way that people had to get loud to be heard, and is based off a photo I took at the Kitchener March and lastly, the words "Am I Next" was from a sign my friend made for the Black Lives Matter March in Guelph."


"I chose the upper lip of the figure in the mural as the piece I wanted to fill in because I wanted to think about representing voice through art. This is an important part of mine and many others’ stories. Especially now. I often think of the power and emotions that words can hold - how community can both be built through the passing on of stories and ripped apart because of conflicts of interest." 


"Most of my artwork is inspired by human anatomy, so I chose two anatomical representations to depict this theme of voice in my piece of the mural: the larynx (three prints near the middle) and alveoli (prints clustered in both corners). The larynx is most commonly referred to as the ‘voice box’ and this is where sounds are produced. The alveoli are little pouches in the lungs where gas exchange during inspiration and respiration occur."


"Black Womxn are often expected to be strong and perseverant. We carry the weight of the world yet our pleas for help are dismissed and overlooked. I chose to speak out on the plight of Black Womxn quite literally. The section of this mural that I chose was a part of the mouth, thus figuratively providing a voice to such an overlooked group. In the image I painted, you can see the faint image of a Black Womxn amongst colours representing several elements of nature (earth, sun, water) and she/they are carrying the globe on their shoulders."


"The painting I did is a reflection of content and acceptance that I hope to see more within individuals regarding their bodies. The pressure from our inner voices, families, media and culture has made it hard to love ourselves despite the fact that we're meant to be how we are. The rolls on your tummy are okay, the hair on your arms and legs are okay, the upper lip hair doesn't need to be picked off incessantly and acne is in fact quite normal. Dark skin is not meant to be bleached and curly hair doesn't have to go through all the heat to be straight. Stretch marks are like stripes on a tiger or the lightning during a storm. Yet, there's shame and guilt that's passed down from generations, influenced by the standards of beauty from colonization and the misconception of what our bodies are like. This piece hopes to spark acceptance of ourselves and reject the preconceived notions of our body, that is our home." 


"I first noticed a nest of crows in an old growth tree in my backyard in the early weeks of lockdown. They have become a comforting presence as I’ve watched them grow during this time of isolation, disconnection, and racial uprising. The crows, in this time, are our friends and our leaders. Crows caw in protest and in mourning when someone has harmed one of their own; I understand this as an act of fierce love and protection, of a deeply ingrained sense of care for the collective, passed on at the molecular level. There is something here that I cannot quite articulate, a link between survival and community care, both mutually indebted to the other, that I find so necessary, so loving. To me, the crows signify life, death, care, wisdom, and collective transformation. I'm grateful for their presence and their guidance."

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page